GOOD NEWS

Not a double rainbow, but might as well be.

It happened.  It actually, finally happened.

My book sold.

I wish I had this awesome post here, but honestly, I don’t even know what to say.  I could write about everything that has led up to this moment, but come on, most of you know that road very, very well.

But then, it actually happens.  And you kind of go numb. And even though you always thought you’d scream at the top of your lungs, the truth is, you shed a few happy, quiet tears.  Maybe you think you’re a little weird because you’re not freaking out, but you keep tearing up throughout the day.  The tears come in little waves.  So you smile, and try to let it sink in. You wonder, can this be real?  Can this really be real?

And then you realize, it is.  It. Is.

Here’s the announcement from Publishers Marketplace:

Jenny Torres Sanchez’s debut GOODBYE, CHARLIE, pitched as John Green’s Paper Towns meets Sasha Paley’s Huge about a former fatboy’s struggles with food, an unattainable girl, and a falling-apart family, to Marlo Scrimizzi at Running Press Teens, by Kerry Sparks at Levine Greenberg Literary Agency (World).

What keeps coming to mind (and it’s probably because I’ve now watched the BBC version of Pride and Prejudice more times than anything else in my life and read Pride and Prejudice more than any other book) is after Mr. Bingley has just proposed to Jane and she says to Lizzie, “Tis too much…by far too much.  I do not deserve it.  Oh, why is not everybody as happy?”

Peeps…it is too much, so much that I don’t even know if it has totally sunk in yet.  But I do know this…I wish you the same happiness.

Follow me on Twitter @jetchez

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to GOOD NEWS

  1. There will likely be many more ups and downs in our publishing journey (hopefully mostly ups), but you will never have to make that first sale again. You will never again be “pre first big break.” Always “post.” That’s big. And if there’s every anything I can do to smooth your journey in some small way, I hope you’ll let me know.

  2. @smitheclaire says:

    It isn’t too much! This is what you worked so hard for.

    Let it sink in. Remember to breathe and then go party.

    You earned it 🙂

    Congrats, babe! Keep us updated 🙂 ❤ ❤ ❤

  3. Ghenet says:

    This isn’t just good news. It’s amazing news! I’m so happy for you! This is what comes from working hard and beliving the glass is half full 🙂

    Congrats!!! The book sounds great and I can’t wait to be able to read it!

  4. OMGoodness! I am so happy for you, Jenny! That so awesome. It will sink in soon. You deserve it and now you can say all of your hard work has really paid off.

  5. Paul Greci says:

    Great news!! Congrats on your sale. The premise of your book sounds awesome!!

  6. Thanks, you guys! Your good wishes and congrats make this even sweeter!

  7. Pingback: Tweets that mention GOOD NEWS | Read. Write. Suffer. -- Topsy.com

  8. I’m so happy to say that I (virtually) knew you when…many congratulations, my writing friend!

  9. erikamarks says:

    Hope you’re celebrating! I know what you mean about it sinks in slowly…you expect some sort of rush but it’s much more about moment to moment–you’re going along and then…whoa! It really happened?! So, so cool. (I re-tweeted your post through the site, but don’t know if it worked?! Either way, congrats!!!)

  10. Stace says:

    Hi Jenny,

    It’s been a while since I visited your blog but wow… Great news once I got here! Many congratulations!

  11. Robin Talley says:

    Congratulations!!! OK, so I’m a month late with my congratulations, but I just came across your blog for the first time and was thrilled to see this news. I had seen that blurb when it came through PM and thought, “Now that sounds like an awesome contemporary. Can’t wait to see it on shelves!” And I still can’t. Congratulations, hope you’re still enjoying the moment! 🙂

Leave a Reply

