Fun Bloggy Stuff

Excitement is in the air!  *Polishes award to a brilliant shine*  Look, isn’t it stylish!

Presented to me by the lovely Ghenet from All About Them Words (wanna know how to pronounce her name and read about other cool writing stuff? Visit her blog!).  Thanks so much, Ghenet.  This was fun.

Here are the rules behind this sassy little award:

1. Thank the person who gave the award
2. Share 7 things about yourself
3. Pass the award on to 15 bloggers you discovered and like
4. Contact these bloggers and let them know they’ve won

So in the spirit of blog comradery, I too shall share some random facts about myself.  Of course, I retain the right to unabashedly deny any of the following should you confront me about them:

1.  I was mistaken for a boy pretty much my WHOLE childhood.  Mom-I forgive you for the short hair and cousin Jorge’s hand me downs, but…well, harsh memories.  Harsh. Memories.

2.  When I was a kid, I thought I was a science project and people were robots and my every move was being observed by some unknown robots in an unknown location.  Remember that 80’s song, I Always Feel Like Somebody’s Watching Me?  Yeah, I pretty much thought it was created for reaction purposes.  Egocentric little thing, wasn’t I?

3.  I hate seafood—any kind, cooked any way, the way it smells, the way it looks.  Everything about it completely grosses me out.

4. It took 3 times before I finally passed the driving portion of my driver’s test when I was sixteen.

5.  I never chew gum. Not because I’m a freak about my teeth or anything—it just gives me a headache and makes me feel ill.  Hey, I never claimed to be normal.

6.  I learned I loved to write in fourth grade when Mrs. Macalusso made us write a story about being 3 inches tall for a county wide creative writing contest.

7.  One of my proudest moments ever was winning first place in a county wide creative writing contest in fourth grade.

And now to spread the love, here are some blogs I came across when I first started blogging and continually visit for their humor, wisdom, and advice.  Visit them and also, leave a fun random fact about yourself in the comments section below.  Random facts are so much fun…and random;).

Amanda Hoving at Amanda’s Wrinkled Pages
Erika Marks at On Writing, Publishing, and Other Delicacies
Ollin Morales at Courage 2 Create
Lynley Stace at Bloggity Blog Blog

Follow me on Twitter @jetchez

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Fun Bloggy Stuff

  1. Ollin says:

    Aw, thanks for the mention! I’m flattered!

  2. Stace says:

    Oh dear, I was mistaken for a boy pretty much my entire childhood too… Due also to the hair, which my Mum used to hack off short. Thank goodness she eventually cut off part of my ear as well, which finally made me rebel. I was at high school by that time and the rebellion may have come too late to ever be part of the cool crowd. (Not that I ever aspired to that.)

    Strangely, the ear grew back, though I’m sure one looks slightly more squarish at the top. Anyway, that’s why you get it done at the hairdresser’s. Those people are trained to avoid ears.

  3. erikamarks says:

    Thank you, Jenny, dahling! Did you say, part of your EAR? Oh, mom. Oh, dear…

  4. Ghenet says:

    Yay! I loved reading your random things.

    Off to check out these other blogs… 🙂

  5. I feel your pain on the hand-me-downs. Mine came from my older bro who got them from a cousin who got them from his older bro. And I used to think the people on TV could see me so I never did anything questionable (like changing or picking my nose) while the TV was on.

  6. Thank you for thinking of me, Jenny! Um…do you know my track record for carrying through on these types of awards ? It’s not good, my friend. Not good. 😉

    I love that you won the county wide contest! What was your story about?

    Here’s a fact about me: I won a town contest in 2nd grade for making up a slogan about helping the environment. Here was the winning phrase — “Save Gas, Then it Will Last.” Poetry, yes? I got teased, oh yeah. Hadn’t thought the “gas” part through enough.

  7. Hi Amanda,

    What? I heard your track record was great. Haha, no worries.

    Anyway, it was my adventures around the school after stepping in some magic dust that shrunk me down to 3 inches. It was great fun.

    Great slogan! 😉

Leave a Reply

