For The Love of Tweeting

So, I’m overcoming tweeting anxiety.  Seriously!  I’m not kidding!  I had tweeting anxiety.  When I started tweeting, my finger would hover over the tweet button and then I’d read what I just typed and then delete it and then try to make it sound witty, and then delete it again, until I’d write something like “Oh, cool” and retweeted something cool.  I know, I’m a loser.

Anyway, today was different.  The tweeting gods smiled on me and said, “go forth and tweet whatever you’d like” and I had an a-ha moment.  I thought, you mean…it doesn’t have to be dripping with awesomeness?  It doesn’t have to knock the tweeting world on its ass?  It can just be silly, or fun, or meaningless? Ohhhhh……well, this changes things a bit.

And so I went on a tweeting rampage (it’s corny, but check it out anyways).  And guess what, it was fun!  I want to do it again!  Tweeting is not so scary anymore!

You may be asking, Jenny, why is this thus? What is the reason for this thusness? (okay, maybe not but I’ve always wanted to use that quote).  Or maybe you’re more like, duhhhh, Jen, we knew that.  But here’s my point.  I didn’t!  I was too scared that people would think what I said or wrote was lame and dumb, that I barely chirped.  And yet…and yet…I wanted to.  Now something’s clicked and while I’ve always known that really, nobody is out there analyzing my every word (seriously, I have what…8 followers?), I was always…timid.  That’s not necessarily bad…but it can hold you back a little.  I mean, why not have a little fun with it?  Why not let your personality shine through a bit?  Why not tweet for the love of tweeting?  So maybe someone will grow tired of your silliness.  Big deal.  Your tweets are not like, you know, the Magna Carta or something.

So, while I’m not going to tweet my every move, or my every minute of every day since there are some things you guys probably don’t want toknow about me, (he, he, he twirling the tips of my moustache…just kidding…I don’t have a twirly moustache, silly!) I will tweet more freely!

This is not to say I’ll tweet carelessly, but definitely more freely!  You should too, and then we can all follow each other and hold hands and run in a field of flowers.  Okay, this is getting to be a bit much….

 

or do I?

Anyway, you get my drift, and oh, yeah, this goes for blogging, too!

Follow me on Twitter @jetchez

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to For The Love of Tweeting

  1. Stace says:

    I do understand that feeling, though I’ve never listened to it. Maybe I should have. Sometimes I think, Why am I telling the world all my (oh-so-interesting) business, and then I realise that I like knowing other people’s business (what you had for lunch) so why not…? Nothing’s changed though, really. It’s just that now there’s a record of it, in cyberspace, forever and ever amen. It struck me the other day that anything published in books is far more likely to go the way of the scrapheap than our twitters. Even once we’re dead and gone, our descendants will be able to see our tweets. I’m not sure if that’s really cool or really creepy.

Leave a Reply

