The Melancholy Writer

Okay, admit it, even though as writers we know we have to stay positive in the face of a thousand and one rejections and we all signed up for this the moment we decided to become a writer, there are times when, well…being a writer sucks.  I mean, it takes major effort to stay positive when you’re constantly getting turned down and for reasons which you may very well never know.  Inevitably we all fall victim to becoming…The Melancholy Writer.  Ring a bell?

So, maybe I’m a spaz but I go through these crazy times when everything seems great-I’m bopping along happy as can be, shooting off queries, reading up on all kinds of writing “stuff” and thinking I’m all around doing everything I’m supposed to be doing and then…The Melancholy Writer rears its ugly head. Admittedly, it seems to come when I’m reworking something for the millionth time and it still doesn’t sound right, or after a form rejection, or a couple of form rejections, but nonetheless it happens.  And it’s weird—suddenly I feel irritable, cranky, and, and…melancholy.  Ugh, it’s the worst and just makes me want to shower.   I guess it just comes with the territory, but…sigh…definitely not fun.

Anyway, I’ve come to recognize the signs that precede my transformation into the melancholy writer.  Here they are:

  1. I start to wonder, what the hell am I doing?  A writer? Seriously?  How long am I going to keep torturing myself?
  2. I google info on the lsats
  3. I consider banning bookstores that carry books “written” by celebrities, reality stars, and such
  4. I start to envy other writers (I know!  That’s terrible)
  5. I sigh way too much
  6. The sight of my computer makes me lachrymose
  7. I start to use words like lachrymose
  8. I take the success of people like Snooki from Jersey Shore, personally
  9. I actually consider auditioning for The Jersey Shore just so I can get published (I know, the shame, refer back to my need for a shower)
  10. I just want to get under the covers and watch the BBC version of Pride and Prejudice—forever.

What are some of your warning signs that mark your transformation into The Melancholy Writer, and more importantly, does anyone have a remedy?

Follow me on Twitter @jetchez

This entry was posted in Everyday Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Melancholy Writer

  1. There’s a fantastic book by Jane Yolen called “Take Joy: a book for writers.” It is quite possibly the best writing advice novel I’ve read and definitely a good remedy for any melancholy writer 🙂

  2. amanda says:

    Ha! Great list — I know how you feel. I’m a big sigher, too (and, so are the characters in my stories…hmmm.). I tend to find any kind of writing avoidance tactic that I can –sometimes that may even mean cleaning my house(!). But, then I fall right back onto the couch, so I can properly wallow in self-pity.

Leave a Reply

